Weathering the Storm

blessings_sm“There are some things you learn best in calm, and some in storm.” Willa Cather

An indie writer colleague recently shared that her family was struggling with severe chronic health issues on several fronts just as her writing career was starting to come together.  I don’t know why when life hands you lemons it also kicks you in the shins too.  I do know that for whatever reasons some of my best writing opportunities have come along at the worst possible times in my personal life.

I remember thinking that I’d like to enjoy the project without having to face the crisis. Then I realized if I didn’t have my writing, I’d only have the crisis. At least whatever project I was working on gave me a brief reprieve from the storm.

Following the creative path is challenging even if your biggest worries are the routine chores of daily life.  While you might have to scale back on a project due to a major front looming in your personal life, never completely abandon your creative pursuits. Your soul needs them and the world longs for more pictures, songs and stories.

Leave a comment