Writer Interview-J.C. McKenzie

CarpeDemon_w9702_750Tell me about your latest book.

Carpe Demon is the third installment of my urban fantasy Carus Series. It continues to follow the journey of badass Shifter, Andy McNeilly as she navigates the supernatural underworld of Vancouver and her tumultuous love life.

What’s next for you?

The fourth book of the series will release in a few months. I’m still waiting on a release date, and will be revealing the title and the cover at the same time.

Who are your writing role models?

I love Patricia Briggs, Kim Harrison and Ilona Andrews. I admire their world building and character development, in addition to their use and infusion of humour, in tightly-packed, fast-paced prose.

How do you balance your day-to-day commitments with your writing life?

Well, right now I would argue I don’t. I recently moved provinces and although I’m still a science teacher by day, I find the workload in a rural community school more challenging to manage and don’t find a lot of time to write or promote. When I do find some extra minutes, here and there, I tend to promote more, because it’s a lot faster and easier to do with a 3 year old running circle around me.

What are your other passions outside of writing?

I love science. I’m a total geek and love to learn new things. When I lived in the city, I played volleyball fairly regularly, and love the ocean. I could watch it for hours.

View More: http://photos.pass.us/headshot2Is there anything else you’d like to share with our readers?

If you sign-up for my newsletter you can stay up-to-date on release dates, cover, and title announcements. Also, if you’re in the Palm Springs area, I’ll be making an appearance at the 2015 InD’Scribe Readers and Writers Conference on September 17-20th, 2015 and look forward to meeting you.

 

 

Website: www.jcmckenzie.ca

Blog: www.jcmckenzie.blogspot.ca

Facebook Page: www.facebook.com/j.c.mckenzie.author

Twitter Page: www.twitter.com/JC_McKenzie

Amazon: www.amazon.com/author/jcmckenzie

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/JCMcKenzie

15 thoughts on “Writer Interview-J.C. McKenzie

  1. J.C., doing promo is best when you’re pressed for time, especially when you have a little one. My youngest is in college, but I remember those days well.
    Congrats on a successful series and thanks so much for joining us today!

  2. Oh, J.C., I sure know how that whole work/life balance thing goes! I work in higher ed, with students with disabilities. This is our craziest time of the year with incoming freshmen and classes starting in a week. I barely have time to breathe! I feel like I can’t do enough promotion, much less find time to write. And I don’t have small children any more, but I do still have a gradeschooler. How do we ever get anything done?? Hang in there…

  3. Good luck, J.C. It’s definitely hard to find the time to write with a full time job and kids to deal with but I find I’m much more productive the busier I am. Multitasking with efficiency. Looking forward to reading your new release.

  4. J.C., I don’t know how you do all that you do! I taught for awhile (Algebra) and was writing (this was before much self promo/social media), and I was a total mess! I think you do a lot and are very sharing with your fellow Authors, so a big pat on the back and just keep writing!

    • LOL! Thanks Hebby! I teach high school biology and science, and this year, they’ve added grade 4 English. We’ll see how that goes! LOL! Thanks for stopping by and commenting 🙂

  5. Hi J.C.! I’m impressed you can do all you do. I don’t have kids but the job is a time suck enough, can’t image adding a little on top! Keep up the writing b/c you write great books! 🙂 And take a deep breath! 🙂

    • Thanks Angelina! I think promotion is one of those things where I’ll never feel like I do enough. There’s always more I can do. Always more I can get. Always more… and it’s a huge time suck! I need to work on setting time aside just to write and not let social media, or any type of distraction get in the way… except my son. He’s not a distraction. He’s just so darn cute! 🙂

Leave a Reply

