My Writing Process

Pad of Paper & PenThanks to Vicky Loebel for inviting me to be a part of this blog tour. If you have a penchant for the Roaring Twenties and the paranormal, stop by on June 28th when Vicky chats about her historical urban fantasy, Speak Easy Dead.

This post is part of the “My Writing Process” blog tour.

What are you working on?

I also write romance as Mariposa Cruz. She writes the spicy, scary stuff. My current WIP is a contemporary romance set in Reno’s salsa scene. Salsa dancing is another one of my passions and I’m having a blast writing about it. I hope to finish Package Deal soon and publish it later this year.

How does your work differ from others of its genre?

I’d like to think my women’s fiction has realism mixed with enough humor to resonate with readers without requiring therapy at the end. What happens when your Prince Charming turns out to be a toad?—is the premise of Ever After.

Why do you write what you do?

I write character-driven stories because those are the stories I’m drawn to as a reader.

 How does your writing process work?

You’d think as paralegal, my writing process would be well-established and strictly followed. Skipping steps in the legal world (especially handling contracts) will make you a cautionary tale. As a writer, my process tends toward focused randomness. I generally have the end in sight when I start the opening chapter (just haven’t quite figured out how I’m going to get there). If I have a clear picture of a later scene or the ending, I write it and space it further down on the page—sort of like highlighting my final destination on a map.

I tend to work on one major fiction piece at a time, but I allow myself to work on smaller projects when opportunities come available.   While conventional wisdom is to stay focused and finish one project at a time, I’ve found that wandering can generate its own momentum.

For another wonderful perspective on writing process, check out Regina Duke’s blog.

Leave a Reply

