Writer Interview-Lori Verni-Fogarsi

I’m excited to welcome Lori Verni-Fogarsi to talk about her latest release, Unexpecting.

Unexpecting:   Shelley and David are a couple of almost-empty-nesters preparing to embark on the next stage of their lives. They just ordered white furniture and planned the vacation they’ve waited their entire lives to Unexpecting-cover-198x300take when Alexandra, seventeen and pregnant, shows up on their doorstep and announces that she’s the daughter they never knew they had!

What inspired you to become a writer? ~I’ve always enjoyed reading, both for entertainment/escape as well as for information or personal growth. When I wrote my first book, the nonfiction, “Everything You Need to Know About House Training Puppies and Adult Dogs,” I owned a dog training school and had the desire to help more people and dogs than I could personally reach within my geographic area. With my novels, “Momnesia” and “Unexpecting,” I hope to provide a sense of commiseration, perhaps the opportunity for personal growth/internal speculation, or at the very least, some good old-fashioned entertainment!

 Tell me what inspired this story. ~My husband and I are in the process of raising four kids, currently aged 12, 15, 18 & 20. As you might imagine, there has been a lot of discussion in our household about “making good choices,” “waiting until you’re ready,” etc. My husband and I are doggedly trying to prevent any of them from having a child before they’re ready and have had numerous private conversations about how we love our kids but have no urge to help raise another baby from scratch. It was this potential “nightmare” in my own personal life that ignited me to explore the question, “How would I really feel? How would I really handle it if something like that were to happen?” It ended up being a huge soul-searching and learning experience for me!

Lori-5-8-13 How do you balance your day-to-day commitments with your writing life?~ I work in chunks of time, mostly in front of the computer between 7:30 and 2:30 when the kids are at school. My fifteen-year-old daughter is involved in a competition dance team and I spend an astounding amount of time waiting there… If I’m really backed up on work, I take my laptop to the nearby library or catch up on some work in my car if necessary during those times. Otherwise, I really try to dedicate my evenings to the kids and all their activities, making dinner and eating as a family, and spending some time with my husband. I keep up with things like housecleaning by making everyone help!

 What are some of your other passions outside of writing? ~I’m a voracious reader and my favorite activity in the universe is going out on our boat on Lake Gaston. In our free time, my husband Mark and I spend a lot of time talking and drinking wine, and instead of going out to dinner frequently, we only go occasionally but to nice restaurants that are more of “an experience.” I also spend a lot of time at dance competitions, gymnastics meets, drill team events, and college tours.

 Is there anything else you’d like to share with our readers?~Yes! And that is that I’d love to get to know you! Sure, this is a blog tour and I’m promoting my new book, but the reason I write books in the first place is for the readers… you! (Otherwise I’d just write in a journal for my own pleasure.) I so love to have the opportunity to get to know my readers because I feel so honored that you read my books and I want to know who you are, what you like and don’t like, etc!

~Thank you very much for hosting me on your blog! I hope your readers have enjoyed getting to know me through the interview above, and I hope to get to know them too, either through comments here, or in other ways!

Everyone who leaves a comment on Lori’s tour page will be entered to win a $20 Amazon gift card! Anyone who purchases their copy of Unexpecting before May 13 and sends their receipt to Samantha @ChickLitPlus.com, will get five bonus entries

Lori’s tour page: http://www.clpblogtours.com/2013/04/unexpecting-by-lori-verni-fogarsi.html

BUY LINK: http://goo.gl/JilWB

Website: www.LoriTheAuthor.com

Facebook: www.facebook.com/LoriTheAuthor

Twitter: www.twitter.com/LoriTheAuthor

Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/LoriTheAuthor

5 thoughts on “Writer Interview-Lori Verni-Fogarsi

    • Thank you for hosting me on your lovely blog! It’s been nice getting to know one another a bit, and Happy Mother’s Day to you, too!

  1. Hi, Lori. Nice to meet you. You’re not that far from me, if you’re playing in Lake Gaston. Although Lake Drummond is closer to me.
    The fun part is when you get them all out of the house and one returns with a child. Just when you think that life has normalized into empty nest, and you don’t have six extra pairs of shoes by the front door… But it gave our daughter the chance to get on her feet, go back to school, and rebuild her life. Always keep that door open. That granddaughter still has a room in my house. Okay, it also still looks like a little girl’s room, but it’s here and she knows that she’s welcome. She calls it *her* room! She’s nineteen.
    Her mom’s marriage may have failed, but her mom didn’t. She picked up the pieces of her life and kept going. At least we didn’t order white furniture.
    🙂

    • Thanks for sharing your story. Yes, it’s interesting how life may take us in directions we didn’t plan, but with a little flexibility we can all still find ways to have happy lives! Enjoy the lake this summer! (I live in Raleigh, NC, and the lake house on Gaston is 1.5 hours from my primary home.)

Leave a Reply

